Blood Cancer Awareness Post 11: Lymphoma

I would like to take a moment and apologize. Due to circumstances beyond my control, my articles for 9/10-9/12 will be late, and not nearly as thorough as I would like. If possible I will go back and elaborate more later.

Today’s topic: Lymphoma

Lymphoma is a cancer of the lymphatic system. The lymphatic system (lymph nodes in the neck, armpits, groin, chest and abdomen) removes excess fluids from your body, and makes immune cells. Abnormal lymphocytes become lymphoma cells, multiply and are collected in your lymph nodes. After a while, these cells will hinder your immune system.

Lymphomas are broken up into two categories. Hodgkin, and non-Hodgkin. (about 12% of people with lymphoma have Hodgkin lymphoma). Most non-Hodgkin lymphomas are B-cell lymphomas, and grow quickly (high-grade) or slowly (low-grade). There are 14 types of B-cell non-Hodgkins lymphomas, while the rest are T-cell lymphomas.

Tomorrow’s topic will be myeloma.

Until tomorrow,



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s